martedì 7 agosto 2012

Guintoli wins at wet Silverstone / Vittoria di Guintoli a Silverstone

Guintoli wins at wet Silverstone

Race Two at Silverstone was red-flagged due to the British weather at the halfway-mark, with Sylvain Guintoli being declared the winner.
With the heavens opening once more just as the race was about to get underway, teams scrambled to change tyres and forks as the start was delayed.
Guintoli made a strong start on his PATA Ducati to grab the lead early, closely followed by rival Jakub Smrz.
Eugene Laverty and Marco Melandri were not far behind, but by the time the first lap had been completed the leading duo enjoyed a five-second lead.
By the start of the third lap, Guintoli and Smrz were almost ten seconds ahead as the rain continued to fall, but Loriz Baz and Davide Giugliano began to make up ground - though the latter would crash out on lap six.
Baz continued to make up ground, however, and passed Smrz on lap eight as he chased a rare double victory, having triumphed earlier in Race One.
He caught and passed Guintoli on lap ten, but crashed moments laters through Becketts, handing his countryman the lead once again.
In fact, there were crahed aplenty during the race, with third placed Smrz, fourth placed Maxime Berger, sixth placed Carlos Checa, ninth placed Jonathan Rea and 12th place Tom Sykes all crashing within a lap of one another.
With the circuit starting to resemble a Mad Max movie, the red flag finally came out on lap ten of 17, with the decision being made to count the race back two laps.
That means Guintoli was declared the winner, Baz was allowed to keep second and Smrz was handed third place - albeit with half points awarded for all.
The disappointed man will be Eugene Lavery, who was in a podium place on lap ten, but not eight. He had to settle for fourth.
Berger and Checa also profited from the decision, endind up with fifth and sixth place respectively.
Chaz Davies was seventh, while Marco Melandri was given eighth place - shaving another 1.5 points off his lead.
Rea received ninth place, followed by John Hopkins, Max Biaggi and Sykes.
Michel Fabrizio was 13th, while Hiroshi Aoyama and Niccolo Canepa rounded out the points table in 14th and 15th.
1. Sylvain Guintoli (50) - PATA Racing Team
2. Loris Baz (76) - Kawasaki Racing Team +0.881
3. Jakub Smrz (96) - Team Effenbert Liberty Racing +1.671
4. Eugene Laverty (58) - Aprilia Racing Team +19.045
5. Maxime Berger (121) - Team Effenbert Liberty Racing +22.116
6. Carlos Checa (7) - Althea Racing +23.736
7. Chaz Davies (19) - ParkinGO MTC Racing +24.690
8. Marco Melandri (33) - BMW Motorrad Motorsport +26.197
9. Jonathan Rea (65) - Honda World Superbike Team +26.861
10. John Hopkins (21) - FIXI Crescent Suzuki +27.194
11. Max Biaggi (3) - Aprilia Racing Team +29.243
12. Tom Sykes (66) - Kawasaki Racing Team +30.328
13. Michel Fabrizio (84) - BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet +32.746
14. Hiroshi Aoyama (4) - Honda World Superbike Team +34.905
15. Niccolo Canepa (59) - Red Devils Roma +35.849
16. Lorenzo Zanetti (87) - PATA Racing Team +40.091
17. Leon Haslam (91) - BMW Motorrad Motorsport +58.530



Follow by Email

Cerca nel blog

2020 creations

Aggiungi didascalia